Looking For Alaska by John Green

41r-sKjJ61L

♡ ♡ ♡1/2

I am confused on how I feel about this book. On one hand, I loved it. On the other hand, I didn’t. I feel as if this book would make an amazing movie. *I think I read somewhere that they are looking into making it a movie?* It has all the qualities to make a fine drama. Maybe I feel as if I didn’t like the story based on how tragic it is. I was not expecting it.

In this book we follow Miles (Pudge) during his time at Culver Creek Boarding School. Pudge attends Culver Creek in an attempt to start fresh, make new friends, maintain his well rounded education. Pudge has an obsession with famous last works- name somebody and he could tell you their last words! Pudge quickly makes friends at Culver Creek and these friends soon turn into the best thing that has ever happened to him. Pudge meets Alaska, a girl whom smokes too much, drinks too much, surely has some skeletons in her closet, but is undeniably beautiful. Pudge didn’t know this yet, but Alaska would change his life. Forever.

This book is very well written and I enjoyed reading it. I just feel as if Pudges character needed more of a backbone. He did EVERYTHING everyone asked him to do- even when he felt unsure about it. Although, I guess it did give Pudge a sense of innocence and insecurity which is what his character had from the beginning of the book. Throughout the book I felt as if I wanted to know Alaska better- her character had some emotion *in the barn, especially* which makes the reader feel emotion for Alaska- but with how the book unfolds it makes sense that there is no in-depth emotion that comes from Alaska’s character. She, in a way- is a mystery.

If you have read John Greens book Paper Towns- you will notice a familiarity with the characters. I feel as if he uses a lot of the same character traits for a lot of his characters. (Not a bad thing! I do enjoy the characters he creates) John Green does a wonderful job at bringing characters to life. You really feel as if you are there at Culver Creek with them.

This book is a tragic story that will make the reader reflect upon loss, friendship, relationships, and the importance of self discovery.

Lots of love,

L&A

 

 

Leave a Reply

