The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

perksofbeingawallflower

♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡

Dear Friends,

I feel the need to begin my review in the same delightful way The Perks of Being a Wallflower was written. I assume no creative liberties on this format however because of how wonderful it made the book I wish I had thought it up myself.

The book is a series of letters written to an unnamed friend from Charlie, the boy with no friends. That is until he enters the 9th grade and befriends some seniors, Sam and Patrick at a football game. He immediately falls in love with Sam’s smile and Patrick’s personality and they introduce him to a whole new world.

Charlie, though, isn’t always okay. He has mental breakdowns and blackouts and can’t figure out why. He does his best to be normal and spends most of his time trying to make others around him as happy as he can. As he explains to his pen pal the trials, tribulations and amazing stories of his life, his friends and how he’s finally decided to participate in his own life, a story unlike any other unfolds.

Stephen Chbosky manages to write simply and clearly to tell a story that is so inspiring. You feel as though Charlie is speaking directly to you and in a way feel as though you, too, are part of his life. The Perks of Being a Wallflower has since become my favourite book and although I saw the movie first (loved it by the way—if you haven’t seen it I suggest you do so right away) it didn’t take away from the book in the slightest. Among the magnificent story telling are some of the most quotable lines I have ever read. It’s one of those books that makes you really feel something. Every emotion Charlie goes through I felt straight to my core and it’s a rarity, at least for me, to feel so strongly as to believe that Charlie isn’t just a character in a book.

Read this book. Watch the movie (which was also adapted by Stephen Chbosky so it’s incredibly well done). And feel the feelings.

 

Lots of love,

 

L&A

Leave a Reply

