The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

book

♡♡♡♡♡

This book was a must read in my grade twelve English class. I thank that class so much because this book is one of my favorites of all time- and I’m sure if I wasn’t made to read it, I wouldn’t have read it so early in my life [and wouldn’t have become like a kid in the candy store when they made a movie remake of it.]

If you are considering reading it, don’t question- just do it! I promise you will not regret it.

The Book Thief is narrated by Death. Interesting, am I right? Death becomes intrigued by a young girl named Liesel Meminger. Even though it is not Liesels time with Death- he is still intrigued by her. She is a smart young girl who goes to live with her new foster parents in Germany during World War II. The book surrounds Liesel and her new life on Heaven Street- where she learns compassion, and love. Liesel meets wonderful people, gains friendships for life- and importantly she learns how to read. Liesel reading plays a huge roll in this book– as you can probably tell by the title, The BOOK Thief.

Death narrates Liesels new life and gives the reader an incredible journey through how tough life was during World War II and how little mistakes/decisions can lead to big consequences.

If you want to read a well written novel about an intelligent young girl- who conquers her world with what she has been handed in life- and makes the absolute best out of everything that was going on during that time. This is the book for you!

“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race-that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.”
Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

Lots of love, L&A

Leave a Reply

